Chinese Medicine Regulatory Office

Analysis of Chemical Markers of Chinese Materia Medica (CMM) in Medicinal Oil for External Use


This research project aims at developing and validating testing methods for the determination of chemical markers of Chinese materia medica (CMM) commonly found in Chinese medicinal oil for external use. This project is divided into two phases. In the first phase, a test method for the determination of 5 chemical markers (α-pinene, eucalyptol, camphor, menthol and methyl salicylate) was developed and validated. In the second phase, test methods for the analysis of other 7 chemical markers (borneol, cinnamaldehyde, citronellal, eugenol, linalool, linalyl acetate and thymol) were developed and validated. All the methods were validated according to the requirements stipulated by HOKLAS and Technical Guidelines for proprietary Chinese medicines (pCm) registration.


Features

  • Validated multi-analytes testing methods;
  • Convenient, simple, easy and common testing methods;
  • Provide dual chromatographic columns approach for choice and in case negative control sample is not available, can demonstrate specificity of the method when analyzing the chemical markers in external medicinal oil*;
  • Use of advanced instrumentation for the analysis of chemical markers present at sub-percentage level.


The aim of this project is to provide analytical method(s) for Chinese Medicines traders and testing sectors as reference. They can adopt the multi-analytes testing methods as the quality control method for pCm registration. This would help to reduce the investment on method development and validation. In addition, the manufacturer of pCm could adopt the testing method as their internal quality control protocol to strengthen quality control ability of their products and establish the brand image of Hong Kong in Chinese medicines.


Testing methods
(English version only)

*The method is intended to provide a reliable analytical method that can be used as quality control method for Chinese medicinal oil with active ingredients containing one or more of the 12 chemical markers, such as turpentine oil, eucalyptus oil, camphor, menthol, methyl salicylate, borneol, cinnamon oil, citronellal oil, clove oil, lavender oil and thyme oil. It is the user’s responsibility to assess the suitability of the Chinese medicinal oil products when adopting this method, especially whether other ingredient(s) or excipient(s) contain any of the 12 chemical markers of choice as well as the existence of other herbal material(s)/herbal material extract(s).

衞生署中醫藥規管辦公室

外用藥油中中藥材指標成分的分析


此研究項目旨在建立及確認外用的中藥藥油(外用藥油)中常用中藥材的指標成分之分析方法。項目分兩個階段進行。在第一階段,我們建立及確認了在外用藥油中常見的5種化學標記物(α-蒎烯、桉油精、樟腦、薄荷醇和水楊酸甲酯)的檢測方法。在第二階段,我們建立及確認了另外7種化學標記物(冰片、桂皮醛、香茅醛、丁香酚、芳樟醇、乙酸芳樟酯和百里香酚)的檢測方法。建立的方法乃根據香港實驗所認可計劃及中成藥註冊技術指引中的要求進行確認的。


特點

  • 經驗證的一測多檢方法;
  • 方法方便,簡單易用和普及;
  • 提供雙色譜柱方法作選擇,可在分析外用藥油中化學指標成分時,在無法取得陰性對照樣本的情況下,證明方法的專屬性*;
  • 用先進儀器測試含量少於一個百分比的化學指標成分。


此項目是為中藥業界和檢測業界提供經驗證的分析方法作參考,中藥商可採用本項目所建立的一測多檢方法,作為質量控制方法供中成藥註冊使用,有助減少中藥商在方法建立及確認方面的投資。此外,中成藥製造商亦可採用此方法作為內部生產的質量控制手段,加強業界對其產品的品質控制能力,藉此建立香港中藥品牌形象。


測試方法
(只提供英文版本)
*此方法旨在提供一種可靠的測試方法,作為含有12種化學標記物中的一種或多種的有效成分,如松節油、桉葉油、樟腦、薄荷醇、水楊酸甲酯、冰片、肉桂油、香茅油、丁香油、薰衣草油和百里香油的外用藥油的質量控制方法。在採用此方法時,使用者有責任評估其外用藥油產品是否適用於此測試方法,特別是其產品中的其他成分或輔料是否含有選定的12種化學標記物的任何一種或多種,以及其他中藥材或中藥材提取物的影響。